Em Joins the Isle Dance Farm

Cap Kotz
2 min readMar 15, 2024

Farmer Dad introduced Em to the Woofer Gang on a Wednesday. Clive, Dent and I stood stiff, unsure how to interact. Farmer Offspring #1 (aka Sarge) shoulder soldiered with Dad Farmer (DF), facing down our blend. I ducked and scuttled until I found an Open Portal. Emerging into a voluptuous room, I glimpsed Green Man beckoning me to follow.

"Green Man!" I shouted. "He came to me just now. He wants us to follow him." And I tore out of there, heels on fire, Clive and Dent close behind. We ran to the bottom of the fields where we saw him before, leaning against a tree and groaning. Looking back, I saw Em wave to Farmer Dad and Sibling #1 before hurrying to catch up. Crouching beside me in the grass fringe, she whispered, "What's going on?"

"A couple of weeks ago, Denk saw the Green Man for the first time. Before this, he'd just been an Isle Dance Farm legend. Dent says he had a grip on one of the alder tree trunks and was groaning. We're concerned he might be hurt."

Dent dared to cross the border to the edge of the woods, then slipped into the shadowy interior.

"Cone on," Clive urged and crouch-ran to join Dent.

"Shouldn't we be working?" Em asked nervously, but I had no time for answers and hurried to catch up with the other Woofers.

--

--

Cap Kotz

Writer and Story Mapping Guide, I follow the life path no matter how challenging.