The Silent Scream

Cap Kotz
2 min readApr 20, 2024
Author & MJ

Episode 1 of @MotherFatherSon has the son sprinting hard into exhaustion and a forest for cathartic screaming. I recognize the scenario and marvel at the character's ability to scream aloud.

I learned to perfect the Silent Scream, which involves sinking into present sensations and becoming buried in unheard layers as I scream without sound.

Q: When does the Silent Scream become audible?

The @MotherFatherSon son explodes into a full-on Stroke, leaving him paralyzed on the right side, needing to relearn how to talk and walk. I've hit rock bottom many times, but this StoryLine challenges my ability to follow along with empathy. One aspect of the stroke is that the son can't control his narrative, and he begins to reveal secrets about his father's toxic power structure he once participated in, hence the screaming.

My silenced cries for help were primarily passed on through my father's side of the family. And perhaps fortunately, he died when I was barely a young adult, and I began my journey to uncover and voice my screams at that time.

I explored humorous storylines by writing for fringe theatre productions and my darker self with short fiction that I read out loud to small audiences. Looking back, I marvel at the power of declaring a tremendous range of expression. I built a bridge from humorous and playful to…

--

--

Cap Kotz

Writer and Story Mapping Guide, I follow the life path no matter how challenging.