Unlocking Acquired Luggage 1

Cap Kotz
3 min readApr 6, 2024
Author and MJ

I came into this world loaded with cultural, intergenerational luggage, stuff my ancestors could not release in their lifetime. Then I received a thorough trauma-informed download and underwent neuro wiring to prepare me for a hypervigilant survivor bracket, all before I could walk and speak English. In other words, English was not my first language. I adopted a soldier mindset early on, impervious to pain, emotionally stunted, and ready to fight and struggle at any given moment. I'm also highly feeling sensitive, creative, and driven to express myself through writing, music, dance, and theatre.

Some time ago, I decided to make the Why Path off-limits. Whenever I tried to gain access, an Inner Border Patrol turned me away. "Why?" I cried, thinking myself bereft and alone, shaking the metal fencing blocking the way. At this point I understood that I carried luggage, not mine, and I would never find out why. It is best to Identify & Name Trigger Patterns and design ways of either interrupting or strengthening them.

Some of the Ancient Luggage Weighs Me Down. The list scrolls on and on, with the first twelve items being:
Envy
Resentment
Greed
Guilt
Loneliness
Judgment
Shame
Fear
Anxiety
Deadness
Anger
Self Doubt

--

--

Cap Kotz

Writer and Story Mapping Guide, I follow the life path no matter how challenging.